Kodak, Is This A Joke?

A few months ago my mom won a camera from work. A little, waterproof, video-camera type thing. I took it to PEI with me (because nothing is more flattering than taking pictures of your friends swimming in the freezing ocean). I put it underwater (important, because it’s waterproof and all). The doors got stuck and wouldn’t open.

No one looks that good underwater.

What do I do? Email Kodak.

This experience is just so laughable I had to share it with someone.

I sent them something along the lines of what I wrote above, but I specified the model type and blah blah blah. What I really wanted to know was if it was a known problem with some sort of solution, because I googled around and it’s kind of bullshit that everyone is having problems with the doors getting stuck. I mean, did they not test this waterproof camera…underwater?

So I get a form email back of course, and I kid you not this is what I’m asked:

“1.Was this product dropped or exposed to any liquids?

2.Have you tried taking out battery and placing it back in?”

…but…but…I answered the first one and how will the second one relate to…did you even read my message?

I answer them. I include that it was a gift, because they asked if I had proof of purchase.

Their response:

“Please provide me with the serial number for the Kodak PlaySport ZX5 video camera. The serial number should be located on the box or on the camera on the side where the compartment is located”

…apparently putting both form emails together was too much to handle, oh and by the way the serial number was located under the stuck door. I told them this in my response with the serial number. No acknowledgement.

Apparently after they have all this information they can recommend I sent the camera  in for service…with proof of purchase. Which I told them I did not have, since it was a gift.

Of course, I email a back a polite little “wtf?” message, and then they send me a survey asking about how my experience was. And then an ad asking me if I wanted to buy a new digital photo frame or some crap.

So, ladies and gentlemen, there you have it. I have finally found the company with the worst customer service in the world. Short of actually coming to my house and slapping me in the face, this couldn’t have been any more aggravating.

I wish you all a much less painful experience if your camera ever were to break.

Oh, and by the way, my dad fixed it with some WD40. Thanks for the help, Kodak!

18 responses to “Kodak, Is This A Joke?

  1. thirtyfourflavours

    hey, how’s glendon going?

  2. This is by far the most classic thing I have read in a while. Also, as you said a BIG WTF and ty so much for not even helping! Lol

  3. Pingback: Kodax camera | Sickfightgear

  4. Why would you put a waterproof camera under water? It’s not an underwater camera, just waterproof… NOT! Lol Glad your Dad fixed it. 🙂 [Aside to thirtyfourflavours: Damn that ice cream looks good!]

  5. You would think in these days of social media (and blogging!) that companies would make greater care on the customer service end. Their loss.

  6. Wow, wtf is right! They are a joke now, they’re so bad! What happened to you, Kodak? You used to be cool.

  7. Actually the fact that you GOT an email is nice, considering that Kodak is broke and sort-of doesn’t exist anymore.

    But those cameras are the worst. Good thing it was a gift.