Where did that week go?

I suppose it’s good that the days and weeks are just flying by, since I can’t wait to start at my new university this fall and get back into nerd-mode. The blog is taking a hit, though! Sorry guys. My 8 hour workdays turn into 12 hours with the commute. I get home at 10:30 some nights and go right to bed so I can get up at 7am the next day. *sob*

A long winded explanation for a disappointing blogging schedule. Ah, so cliche.

Anyway, how about an update on the past week?

Last last Sunday was the pride parade in Toronto.

I have never seen so many happy, smiling people on Yonge street in my life. The pride parade falls on the last day of pride week, which is one of the largest gay pride festivals in the world.

I love it. People from all walks of life come out to show their support for the LGBT community; even the Toronto Police decorate their cruisers and take part in the fun!

Cue the bad iPhone photos (but hey, at least I got a good spot in the crowd!)

20120708-161331.jpg

20120708-161449.jpg

20120708-161538.jpg

20120708-161622.jpg

20120708-162446.jpg

I have discovered my new beer replacement. I hate beer. I know, sue me. I should be kicked straight out of Canada, right?

I hate going to bars and being the only one to not order a pint of Keiths. Gin and tonic, please? Yes, that’s what I said.

In comes Strongbow. Oh, dear, glorious cider. Not bitter at all. Finally, something that I can order and enjoy with a meal at a pub!

I went to the LCBO to pick up a bunch. Three different LCBOs were completely out of Strongbow. What? Apparently their warehouse is empty! WHAT?

I suppose I should have taken the free one that guy offered me on the RT. His LCBO bag exploded and the cans rolled everywhere, I offered him an old shopping bag I had in my backpack. A good deed for a nice can of cider sounds like a deal, but I was too modest.

—-

I got a little too drunk at a bonfire after work on Sunday night. The last text I sent my boyfriend (who is in another province for the summer) was a picture of an empty subway car on my way home, and then I didn’t respond to anything else. Whoops, didn’t mean to scare the crap out of you, sorry.

20120712-143705.jpg

I kid you not, the caption was “All alone.” What is wrong with me?

—-

Last Wednesday I got bit by a pony. There is now a pony-mouth-shaped bruise on my thigh, and now I know not to tighten the saddle so abruptly. Lesson learned.

The worst part is that I now realize that covers more than a week! Ahh!

8 responses to “Where did that week go?

  1. Ah the pride parade looks so fun! It’s so nice to seeing everyone taking part in it!

  2. Try getting home at 00:15 to be back up by 4:30 to go back to work:( Barely worth going home! Anyway, welcome to (working people’s) life. Have fun and enjoy the summer, you’ll be back in school in no time! And glad you found something other than beer to drink – you’re not the only person:)

    • Ah, that’s awful. You’re right, when I pulled long hours at a nursery last spring it was almost better to put a cot in the basement for us to sleep in instead of going home.

      Thank you, it’s good to hear I’m not the only one without a taste for beer!

  3. Ah, cider is a neat substitute for beer (which I also don’t like).
    The pictures of pride look nice. It’s good so many people celebrate it.

  4. That subway text is funny. Although I guess it wasn’t that night, haha.