The Great Gatsby Trailer

I usually don’t bother with writing about stuff like this, but I just need to vent.

The Great Gatsby, 2012. Complete with Leonardo DiCaprio’s beautiful face.

The music they chose for the trailer is a little odd, but my main issue is all the CGI. Why is there so much?

Were they going for the crazy dreamland look? It’s not Hogwarts, for gods sake.

Is Hollywood incapable of making a good ol’fashioned movie anymore?  Am I completely off here and this is just computer edit of a real building? I have no idea, but it just looks weird.

Even the street scenes look off, everything just seems slightly “mystical.”

Let me know what you think of the trailer. Do you think the movie will do the book justice?

12 responses to “The Great Gatsby Trailer

  1. It’s Baz Luhrmann. That’s his style. I am looking forward to this movie, but a.) I loved Moulin Rouge and b.) The Great Gatsby is one of the three books in high school that I was supposed to read but basically skipped most of (the other two being Great Expectations and The House of Seven Gables). There have been how many movie versions of Gatsby made over the years? There ought to be something different about this one, no? If you do see it, I take it you aren’t opting for 3D? 🙂

    • I’m one of those uncool people who get headaches with 3D. It never lines up right in my eyes, I don’t know.

      There have been a lot, hasn’t there? You’re right, this movie is going to be completely different from the rest. Maybe that’s not so bad.

  2. I’ll quit watching movies if they ruin one of my favorite books. It does look like there’s too much CGI and not nearly enough of simple yet spectacular camera work.
    I liked that they chose “No Church in the Wild” for the trailer at the start. I think it fits quite well not only with the movie, but with some of the book too.

    • When I first watched the trailer, the song seemed weird and out-of-place. After a few more times, it seems to fit pretty well. I guess it’s just a little bit unexpected at first to hear something so modern in that context

      • Exactly! The whole soundtrack/actor choice/CGI and the rapid cuts in the trailer seem to contrast with everything I could have imagined from reading the book. I hope for the best though.

  3. I think the stage is being set for a major artistic revolution. In the not to distant future there will be a wave of “revolutionary” films made with nothing but some cameras, actors, a little lighting and a story and plot. I personally can’t wait.

    • To be honest, that’s not something I’m looking forward to. Hopefully there will still be some movie makers who want to keep it simple, and others who are great at CGI so much so that it doesn’t look corny. I’m sure there will be a balance

  4. I actually thought the music fit quite well, and I think the CG works for how I imagined the scenery when I was reading the book. However, it has been quite a long time since I read it (about five years I think) so I was a little lost as to what was going on in the trailer, sadly. I may have to read it again before this comes out.

    • I guess I imagined it a little bit different, less castle-like. I think that’s one of the main issues with turning a book into a movie. Everyone has these images they’ve conjured up in their heads, taking into account the somewhat ambiguous descriptions, and when the movie doesn’t match it exactly it can be a little weird.

      Definitely give it a read through again, I know I will 🙂

  5. I read the book after my son recommended it to me, then we went to our local theatre this winter and watched the play, so if Leo is in the movie, ya, I’ll watch it! 🙂

  6. I agree. Except I really liked the music. I guess the artistic direction they’re going in could make sense, because it’s a memory… but the trailer just felt awkward to me. Something didn’t sit well, but I can’t exactly put my finger on what that is.
    I’m going to see it anyway, I suppose, because I love the book. I just hope that, whatever artistic license is taken, the film stays true to the tone and themes & such.

  7. I’m just going to leave the cinematic decisions alone and trust that Leo will do us proud… which, let’s face it, he pretty much does every time.