A Lucky Break: University Admissions Edition

As some of you may know, I am a transfer student. I do not recommend this to anyone, because transferring universities in Ontario sucks. Everything is geared towards high school students, including scholarships, time lines, acceptance averages, etc. Luckily, I was accepted by the school I set my hopes on, which was a life saver because I really did not want to have to go and spend a few thousand dollars to re-take and upgrade my university marks.

My problem was that I did one year in a university nursing program. Didn’t like it, wasn’t for me. I wish I did, considering the starting salaries of RNs in this province, but what can you do? I took a year off to figure out what to do and to stop wasting money at the rate of 7 grand a year.

I knew that I was going to have to sacrifice a fair chunk of cash to change schools and programs, since I figured my specific nursing courses wouldn’t transfer. Why would they? Does learning how to give someone a bed bath with a soapy wash cloth translate into skills I’d need in political science? (Insert joke here.)

Today I logged into the little “applicants file” thing my new university has set up, where we can monitor our applications and make advising appointments and all those helpful things. Underneath the word “admitted” (which I had originally bawled over upon finding. Go me.) there was a new “transfer credit” link. I clicked it. This is what I found:

Oh mon dieu (this is a bilingual university I will be attending, after all), is that 39 credits? 39? That’s more than a year (I think)! Granted, in nursing we took 7 classes per semester instead of the standard 5, so I see how this is possible. Either way, this is beautiful! My first year has not completely gone to waste! Take that, other university liaisons who said I’d have to start from scratch! My parents will not behead me after all! Exclamation points everywhere!

I have no idea what this will mean in regards to the amount of freedom I will have in choosing my classes, but we’ll deal with that later.

Sometimes this is all it takes to make my day.

[Note of weirdness: Last year a different university offered me a full year transfer and a $4000 bursary. I applied this year again to the same program, with the same marks, and only received an offer of half a year transfer and no bursary! What in the world?]

12 responses to “A Lucky Break: University Admissions Edition

  1. You applied to York, didn’t you? Only York has such ridiculous credits. Only us. *sigh*

    I’m glad you got in though! I transferred from U of T to York after first year and had almost NO freedom in courses – just my program based ones, and the ones they didn’t transfer/consider as gen.eds. (I had to take “Understanding Colour” as a natural science. Seriously.)

    • Yeah, Glendon actually.
      Yikes, understanding colour? I’ve got my advising appointment in April so hopefully they’ll be able to shed some light on what I’ll be facing in regards to my freedom choosing courses.
      Thank you for stopping by!

  2. Congrats!

    Transferring my previous education was one of the weirdest things before starting studies; Universities offered anywhere from scratch (0 credit transfer) to two years… Take a guess at which I chose!

    Which bilingual school have you chosen? (if you don’t mind me asking).

    • It’s crazy how much they differ, isn’t it?
      I’ve chosen the Glendon Campus of York University, although I never know what to refer to it by. It’s also called Glendon College…but it’s a university, so I don’t want any confusing there, especially on my resume. Oh well, I’ll figure something out ;P

      • Its York-Glendon Campus to me; I was there last week for a conference. Going to be beautiful after all the construction!

  3. It’s nice to be pleasantly surprised. And it’s cool you took a year off to sort things out. Did that bother your folks, if you don’t mind me asking? Is it just me or does it seemed to be frowned upon or something?

    • It was a little bit of a struggle. My parents never went to university and were on the “GO TO UNIVERSITY NO MATTER WHAT” bandwagon. They thought I wouldn’t go back, which is a laugh because working as a cashier for minimum wage is probably the biggest motivator to get an education.
      I hate how in the US and Canada a “year off” is seen as a big failure. In Europe, it’s completely normal and even expected to take a gap year.
      I just didn’t want to be one of those kids in class because their parents made them. I wanted to actually WANT an education, and get something else out of it other than just a piece of paper.

      The worst was when customers at work would try and make small talk “so are you a student?” I would blatantly lie and tell them I was going to Ryerson because it was much easier than explaining the whole thing.

  4. I don’t know what’s going on with universities. This is the third credits story I’ve heard in the past few days. I’m acquainted with someone who was accepted to an American university on a scholarship, and two months into his first semester, the college realized they’d made a mistake in admitting him because he hadn’t met the math requirement. Rather than require him to make that up in a year’s time (or so), they quite literally yanked his scholarship out from under him. He’d moved away from home at quite an expense, and was not only out of school, but more broke than only three months before.

    • That is horrible! There should be some legal recourse for something like that. Ugh, I hope it works out for him and he finds a great opportunity at another school.

  5. This has nothing to do with your current post, but I was in Montreal for a couple of days last week and I finally got to watch Privé de Sens. What a wonderfully goofy game show! Thanks for introducing me to it!