The Auto Show 2012

It was on a snowy, gross Friday that we headed down to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre for the Canadian International Auto Show. You have to be strategic with these things, if you show up on a weekend or “family day” (a relatively new holiday monday that coincides with America’s Presidents Day) you can say hello to a day filled with giving stink eye to idiot parents who think letting their toddler sit in the BMW’s drivers seat and hogging it for 20 minutes is adorable and reasonable. It isn’t.

One of the first things we ran into was free coffee at Buick’s display. I know nothing about high-end coffee (you can make it without a Tassimo machine? Interesting) and it looks like these baristas put some work into their product. Plus, look how adorable they are! That’s the Buick logo made out of chocolate shavings on top.

This would be the new compact Verano that we listened to a sales speech for while waiting for our free coffee. Fair trade-off. I wanted to get a good picture of the angry eyebrow-like chrome tail light accents, but I was juggling a parka, purse, camera bag, and delicious coffee at the time of taking this. That’s my excuse. 

There were some interesting concept cars, as always. This would be the Volkswagon Bulli, an obvious throwback to their beloved and iconic minibus. Some pages I’ve pulled up have estimated this will be on sale around 2014 or 2015. Personally, I wouldn’t mind seeing one of these pull up amidst a sea of ugly Dodge Caravans.


I’m not a huge BMW fan, but this was neat. Note the weird doors, I would love to see how they actually close, since it looks like there’s a few moving parts. 

The last concept I took note of was the beautiful Stingray. Classic Stingrays are one of the only cars my boyfriend will notice/admire, so obviously this concept made him a little less annoyed that I had dragged him to auto show. 

As always, there was an entire floor of beautiful classic cars. This year it was the Triumph, and I think I’ll save those pictures for another post because, well, they’re actually decent.

All in all, it was a good way to spend a Friday. This is the only event where I don’t feel too guilty shelling out $15 for a lemonade and a single slice of pizza. Not even those giant slices you get at your local Pizza Pizza, they’re like 1/3 smaller I swear. Nope. No guilt there.

Also, message to Ford: Chevy lets people sit in their Camaros. Audi lets people sit in their R8s worth over a hundred thousand dollars. WHY CAN’T I SIT IN YOUR MUSTANGS? WHY?

It's okay, you're still beautiful.

6 responses to “The Auto Show 2012

  1. Thanks for the blog. That Volkswagon Bulli is pretty cool looking. And yeah… what’s up with Ford not letting folks sit in their cars?

    • They had their cheaper ones open, like the Focus and whatnot. They even had the Ford Edge and Flex open, cars with higher or similar base prices (I believe) than the Mustang. I have no idea, but it was disappointing!!

  2. I’m not a big fan of cars (the only episodes of Top Gear I watch are the adventure/road trip ones, which is something, at least), but I can at least appreciate the beauty of some of the flashy ones.

    Although I don’t appreciate the grill on that mustang (anyway), I like the BMW and the Stingray.

    Also, I think it’s funny that *you* had to drag your *boyfriend* to a car show. lol

    • Haha I know, the amount of unhappy girlfriends being dragged around by their car-loving boyfriends made me laugh since I’m in the complete opposite situation. Oh well, at least he humoured me. 🙂

  3. Wow!! Thanks for sharing! Can’t wait to show my husband these pics.
    He has a corvette and he’ll LOVE this!

  4. My husband and I have been the the BMW museum in Munich and their concept cars are all so different.