Something New

If the 15 year old Michelle could see me now, she would probably want to jump into the future and slap me. I own a TNA parka for damn sake, who am I?

I took the faux fur off and I don't own Uggs, so I still have some of my dignity.

Her main issue would be that I’ve kind of fallen out of the music loop, well, maybe a little more than kind of. While spending the majority of my time in 10th grade waiting in line to be in the front row of small club concerts, I vowed that I would go to as many shows as possible once I turned 19. Oh, the beauty of Lee’s Palace and the Horseshoe Tavern. Classic Toronto destinations, almost always off-limits to the underage crowd, and I never had the balls to use my fake ID with downtown bouncers. They know their shit.

Well…haha…funny thing. The website/store I used to frequent for concert listings has turned into a foreign language. Who are these people? (If you’re looking for good quality vinyl in Toronto, check out Rotate This! It’s been a while, but I remember them being awesome.)

A late new years resolution may be in order:
In 2012, I will stop being so lame, go to more concerts, and listen to new music.

The latter is the most important, seeing as the last 100 songs I’ve put on my iPhone are just nostalgic joke songs for road trips (Okay, well, sometimes there are situations that just call for Ludacris. Sorry.)

In the mean time, while I weed through my old music and scour the internets (intended) for something new, I leave you with this.

I thought I was cool and discovered something new, but it looks like the million+ views on YouTube and 78k Facebook likes have beaten me to it. Aside from the fact that for some reason I just cannot remember the name of the song and constantly have to look it up on my phone, it’s a pretty great listen.

Enjoy.

4 responses to “Something New

  1. thirtyfourflavours

    i saw them at lollapalooza last summer in chicago…supreme!

    they are coming to lee’s in the spring..keep and eye out.

    m

  2. yah I was a huge fan of this song when a mate used to play it- and forgot what it was called- thanks for calling it to my attention again! xx

  3. ps- no parka in sight but i succumbed to the power of the ugg a few years ago. my self-respect is hanging on to the fact that they are so effing comfortable.