Why A Single Mac Program Will Save Me

We all do it. How many countless hours have you spent studying, only to be prolonged by interludes of mindlessly refreshing Facebook or Twitter?

It’s like a comfort blanket that we can’t let go of. Those physiology terms are messing with your brain? Stop the osteocyte talk for a minute and see what your friends are up to online. That’s much better, isn’t it?

But, for many of us, it has almost ruined us. It’s like a drug. You can’t get away. It takes an enormous amount of willpower to just…stop. The biggest mistake I made in first year was taking my laptop to class. The notes I did take on powerpoint slides got lost forever in a sea of poorly-organized and over-saturated files on my desktop. I should have just brought a notebook. Good ol’ pen and paper. Nothing beats that. (Vague Simpsons reference alert!)

Last week I discovered this program for Macs, called Self Control. I only bold it because it’s just so funny and sad that a computer program has to be in charge of something we should all be able to do by now. Oh well, that’s 2011 for you.

You don't mess with it.

It’s very simple. You add some websites to your “blacklist” and the program will not allow you to access them for whatever amount of time you choose. You cannot get around it. Closing the program doesn’t work, neither does restarting you computer. It’s like a built-in preschool teacher, yelling at you to stop screwing around.

I turned it on today while working on an admissions letter, and got an entire rough draft done. The amount of times you have an urge to check Facebook will astound and probably sadden you, so get used to asking yourself “what is wrong with me?”

Too bad I’ve still got my smartphone. I guess I’ll have to take some responsibility for myself, right?

You can download it here

5 responses to “Why A Single Mac Program Will Save Me

  1. This program is genius, I usually delete from my favourite bar all the dangerous sites like twitter, fb and tumblr so that I don’t check them out every 5 mins instead of working, and then I lose 15 mins putting them angrily and then being guilty about myself. It’s a total fail from me !

  2. OMG, it’s as if someone read my mind. Is there a PC version?

    Although I’m thinking this program will end up disabling most of the programs on my computer.

  3. Okay, this program is kind of amazing. So do you manually turn it on and off? I’m one of the many pathetic souls who has been completely devoured by social media websites: facebook, tumblr, youtube, myspace, wordpress.. good grief I have them all.