Perfectionism at its Finest

A short post. No time for screwing around trying to write jokes!

It’s that time. It’s time to get all of my school things sorted out and to choose which programs to apply to. Applying as a transfer student is infinitely more labour-intensive than a high school student…and way more expensive. All you do when you’re in high school is sign onto OUAC with the code your school gives you, click on some programs to apply to, and pay the $175. All of the transcripts are sent for you, no supplementary info is required. Smooth sailing.

As a transfer student, I was looking at $600 bucks to apply to 5 programs at 5 different schools. Six. Hundred. Dollars.
I guess I’ve got to kick some schools off my list. There are these horrible things called “supplementary fees” which every school tacks on. I don’t understand why it has to cost so much, but I suppose I have no choice.

My top choice school is requesting for me to send them a letter and/or résumé “outlining your activities since completing your studies.”

I’ve been scribbling stuff down, crossing them out, and re-writing them for a few days now.

How do I do this? Do I go for the modest approach? Do I relate my year-off activities to why the school would be a great fit? (Like keeping up with my French via Assimil and the school being a bilingual school…) I mean, there are so many rules and guides for cover letters….but I haven’t found any for this.

I guess I’ll just have to write what I feel is best. Oh god. It’s probably not even that big of a deal…but…what if it is.

I’m just freaking my self out. This whole process is do-or-die. Don’t get in? What the hell do I do next? Take another year off? Settle for college? Find some rich guy to marry?

Has anyone been through this or had to write a similar letter? I would appreciate some guidance…and perhaps some sleeping pills and/or booze. This is getting too stressful.

Comments are closed.