A Penny Saved is a Penny Spent…Wait…

Saving. I am surprisingly good at saving. I do not touch my savings account, and it’s not even accessible via my debit card. Still, I’m looking for ways to cut my spending even more.

Main goal: Do not leave school drowning in debt. A little water-around-the-ankles? Okay. Maybe even waist-level. But drowning? Oh, hell no. I remember our 40 year old guidance teacher telling us how she was still paying off her university debt. My first thought: Holy crap, do teachers really make that little?
Trying to plan for that plus trying to plan a trip to the UK is making my head spin. How do I save more?

I don’t get my hair done, aside from a bi-annual cut. I don’t get manicures or pedicures, I do my eyebrows myself (as you can probably tell). I don’t buy make-up aside from the yearly replacement of my Clinique powder and MAC concealer. For the amount I use them both, spending 50 bucks every year isn’t so bad.

There really isn’t that much left to cut. Unfortunately, I live in a climate that has extreme hot and colds. Winter is freezing! It can get down to -25 Celsius multiple times. This is the year I’ve decided to buy quality winter gear in lieu of $40 “coats” from Bluenotes and $50 “boots” from Spring (I never knew feet could literally turn into blocks of ice).

So, here is my dilemma. I have no winter coat at the moment, and I have my sights set on this one:

TNA Parka from Aritzia

It’s classic, super warm, good quality…and it’s going to cost me $300. I tried one on at the store and it was so warm. I can imagine waiting for the streetcar in the wonderful hail/rain/snow that likes to roll around in January, the kind that hurts your skin and stings your eyes. The hood would keep me all nice and warm and the long, waterproof body if it would keep me dry.

I’ve already picked up a pair of leather riding boots on sale for $130 to keep my feet somewhat dry. Thanks, Soft Moc!

At least they look expensive.

But can I justify $300?!? Three hundred dollars. That’s almost 30 hours of work for the minimum wage worker.
That’s $300 less than what will go in my savings for my trip. I can buy 30 pizzas. THIRTY PIZZAS.

I suppose if I use it for 3 winters, it’s better than buying three $100 coats that don’t keep me as warm. (As if I ever buy $100 coats).

Maybe I’ll have to cut my food budget this month. Oh, god.

Oh, glorious food. Glorious, glorious food. Ever since I discovered the Domino’s around the corner and programmed the number into my phone (mistake #1), they’ve seen me at least once a week for a large pineapple pizza. I don’t get it delivered, and it only comes to $10.16 per pizza, but I suppose it’s an extravagance.

There’s also my favourite Greek restaurant, which I have to admit I’m heading down to tomorrow. Again, not expensive at all, but that gives me a reason to justify my quantity of visits. It’s going to cost me 6 bucks for the subway and 10 for the meal, give or take.

It’s not like I’m spending a ton at the pub every week. I almost never spend over $30!
$30 x 3 visits a month (I don’t get weekends off much, boo) = $90
Yikes.

Every meal of tofu pad thai + a coke at the mall? 9 bucks. A bagel and an iced capp at Tim’s? 6.
A subway sandwich on my short lunch breaks? 5 bucks a pop.

I suppose it’s all about balance. I’ve yet to figure out exactly how much it will cost me to go to Edinburgh, and I’ll admit I’m kind of scared to know the total.

Next plan of action: Keep a moleskin notebook and record every single thing I buy. If anyone sees me posting about pad thai from the mall again, feel free to tell me off. Thank you.

6 responses to “A Penny Saved is a Penny Spent…Wait…

  1. Buy the coat and the boots! Spending on a well-made item that’ll last you years and years makes more sense. Think of it as a cost-per-use. If you wear the coat 100 days, it breaks down to $3/day. If you wear it 100 days each year for 3 years, it’s $1/day. If the coat lasts you 10 years (it should if it’s well-made), it’s $0.30/day if you wear it 100 days each year. I struggle with the spend/save issues myself!

    • That’s exactly my train of thought. Every year I buy horrible, cheap boots and cheap “coats” that are more like jackets and then I freeze my bum off. On top of that, I buy new ones the next year! At least I’ll be warm 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. pandoratheexplorer

    I am in the same boat as you! Student loans are terrifying. I have forty thousand dollars worth! It is great that you recognize your situation and are being pro active about it. Have you ever read Dave Ramsey? You should look into investing also. Creativity is key!!! …
    http://wanderlustme.com/2011/10/22/bucket-list-become-a-stock-market-heiress/

  3. Pineapple pizza is the best. My friends think I’m weird for wanting fruit on a pizza

    • Finally, another pineapple fan! A pineapple pizza with tabasco sauce on top and ranch dipping sauce on the side is my favourite. Sorry, that might be a little TOO weird for you. 😛