I Never Thought I’d Relate to George Costanza

If you didn’t grow up watching Seinfeld reruns, then this might go a little over your head. I apologize, and I recommend you take the time to fully appreciate the peak of 90s sitcoms (and Jerry Seinfeld’s hair).

Remember this scene? George, having lost another job, is trying to figure out his next move. He sits down with Jerry, who takes pity and suggests new careers. The whole sequence is hilariously sad, but something most of us can probably relate to at one point or another.

After I quit nursing school, there was a period of a few months where almost every career seemed like an option (aside from engineering and nursing, of course).
Trying to narrow down my interests was next to impossible.

I think I’m a little past this, now. I know what I don’t want in a career, and most of these revelations have come from my soul-crushing current job.

I’m even highlighting majors in university books I’d like to take. Majors! I’m slowly narrowing it down.

And I have to say, I’m kind of proud of myself.

(Anything but geriatrics, anything, I tell you!)

 

4 responses to “I Never Thought I’d Relate to George Costanza

  1. Great post, i love Seinfield! my friend went through the sane thing and changed his major twice but is now doing what he wants to do which is nursing (ironically). Best of luck!

  2. Oh god. This was me for the last 10 years. I’m a year away from 30 and I have one and a half education which I don’t use, and next year I’m starting a new one. It has taken me about 10 years to figure it out which I think is perfectly alright. I have traveled and lived in different countries, growing up along the way and now, finally seeing the contours of who I am, and that allows me to make the right decision. Finally. Hopefully. Fingers crossed. So good luck to you lady! 🙂 Everything is possible!

    • I think as long as you’re progressing in your life, being clueless is okay. What I don’t want to do is sit here as a cashier forever at the same old place because I “don’t know what I want to do.”
      Travelling is definitely a great idea, I think!

      Thank you for the comment!