Oh, How The Tables Have Turned: Me vs. Old Navy

Today, I was the dumb customer. Yes, I went shopping. And yes, I pulled a “classic” (two, even) move, completely being a moron. I apologize, Old Navy employees. It was never meant to be this way. I’m on your side, I swear.

After trekking to the salon in Whitby (here it’s all sketchy $5 Chinese haircut places or “weaves-r-us,” so I go east) I decided to stop by the mall and check out Old Navy. Sales, yay!

and save, I did.

I picked out some various awesome tops and sweaters. One was a nice, thick cable knit cardigan. Kind of old-man style, but in a good way. When I got the cash, it rang up $36! I pulled  the old “what, that’s not on sale? THERE WAS A SIGN!” stunt. To be honest, Old Navy, if you’ve only got certain cable knit sweaters on sale, don’t put them all on the same table with a sign that says “Cable Knits on Sale!” Assholes. Whatever. I brushed it off after the manager went to check the sign, and told the guy to remove it from my bill.

I then handed him my $10 off coupon from the flyer, paid, and left the store.

Looking over my receipt while walking towards the Freshly Squeezed, I noticed that the coupon had actually not come off my bill. “Figures, the guy was slow and not paying attention. Dammit,” I thought to myself. So I got up the nerve the trudge back in and politely let them know the problem. The manager apologized and started typing away into the computer. She had to manually refund all of my items before re-charging me with the coupon. It took her a while to get everything in the computer, and I awkwardly stared at the walls trying not to feel like a douchebag. “Whatever, it’s an hour’s pay!” I kept trying to justify my actions.

She scanned the coupon. Looked at the screen for a few seconds, then at me, then back at the screen.

“Actually, hun, this coupon is for if you spend over $100 dollars.”

…I froze. I was humiliated. I looked over that coupon so many times! When I worked in a grocery store, I wanted to punch people in the face who didn’t read their coupons. Now I was that asshole.

Somehow I got it in my head that it was $10 off $50 or more last week when I shoved it in my purse. What the hell? What is wrong with me?

Well, it wasn’t completely my fault. Neither the cashier or manager even knew how much the coupon was for until after this kerfuffle, and it’s not like Old Navy has a lot of coupons floating around.

The next time someone uses the wrong coupon for some tulip bulbs, I’ll try not to hate them deep down inside. Instead, I’ll turn my hate towards the fact that I really should be in school, and not hating every moment of my life working as a lowly cashier.

Revelation acquired.

4 responses to “Oh, How The Tables Have Turned: Me vs. Old Navy

  1. thirtyfourflavours

    oh man…your posts kill me! 😉

  2. Life is full of mistakes what you don’t like others do, but if you do it…. it’s ok 🙂