On The Fence: Work Abroad?

I was going to call this post just “On The Fence,” but then I realized that title could probably be applied to almost any post I write here. So I clarified. I can have my own “On The Fence” series.

It’s getting to that point where it seems everyone has been to goddamn Europe or Asia. This is what I get for going to a high school with so many rich kids (or kids who have hundred of family members in various South Asian countries. That, too.)

Being a young Canadian citizen, it’s pretty easy to get a temporary work permit for the UK. Then I discovered SWAP.ca
This is an organization that facilitates and organizes (An organization that organizes. Online thesauruses are for losers) young people to travel the world an work. They hook you up with an orientation, help you find jobs, roommates, etc.

0

[Note: photo from SWAP website] I mean, look how much fun these people are having. I bet they aren’t sitting at home on Facebook crying over everyone else’s awesome frosh pictures. (Well, not crying.)

I’ll be attending a SWAP talk in October downtown, hopefully I’ll be able to meet some other people who want to also travel to the UK. Nothing is more terrifying to me then landing in London not knowing a single soul. Edinburgh is calling my name (although I’ve actually been pronouncing it wrong up until yesterday. Awkward.)
The rent isn’t as much as London and it’s a large city also inhabited by a lot of working foreigners, according to the SWAP Facebook page.

I mean, there’s a 4 month gap between when my job ends for the season in December and when it picks up again before school starts, and I’d rather travel than sit at home trying not to kill myself.
I just have to make the choice: Am I prepared to spend 4 months in a country with no Tim Hortons or poutine?

10 responses to “On The Fence: Work Abroad?

  1. how are you supposed to live without poutine though?! (well, i guess you could make your own by buying the fries/gravy/cheese….but poutine is never as good as when someone else makes it). good luck with travelling abroad though! a bunch of my friends from school are doing a study abroad and im super jealous

    • There must be a company in Quebec that will ship cheese curds overseas, right? right?
      I know, there is seriously a hierarchy of poutine-makers. I am such an elitist when it comes to this.
      Thank you for the luck ^^
      Where are they all going? That sounds awesome, you should do a study abroad too

  2. SWAP sounds like the coolest way to travel and meet friends. I wish there was something like this when I was younger, just like you , I wasn’t born rich. I had to use my brain and guts to venture into the world. Of course, I owe my parents for the college degree. I’m happy for you, pursue your dreams, travel as much as you can, just make sure you’re in good company when going to a foreign land. See you on your next post…

    • I’m still working on the “guts” part of that. It’s so easy to just say “meh, maybe next summer I’ll go” or go through all the “what ifs?”

      Thanks for the input 🙂

  3. I’m from england and I hate London. Edinburgh is a MUCH nicer city and the people are friendlier. There’s probably a bit more to do in London than Edinburgh with it being so big and it’ll be cheaper to fly there too.

    • I kind of feel like London is the Toronto of England. Trust me, go to anywhere else in the country, especially the east coast, and mention Toronto. (I always feel like I have to be OVERLY nice when I’m out of town to kind of show them we’re not all bad).
      I think I’ll stop in London first, then fly up to Scotland. It’s weird how cheap short flights are in the UK.
      Thanks for the advice!

      • Either that, or you can get a train. It’s about 4 hours I think and is probably cheaper than a flight. You MUST book 15 weeks in advance though and sometimes two singles is cheaper than a return.
        If you really want cheap, there’s always megabus. It’ll take you about 6 years and you’ll have to sit next to some smelly tax dodger, but it’ll cost you about £2 if you book in advance.

  4. Hi, and thanks for stopping by my blog and subscribing. I’ll look forward to hearing about your plans for travels (from another one who saved up and did it the hard way…). Whatever you choose, wherever you go I think it will be a great expereince!